Be Bold

As I was reading the other day, this verse hit me right in the face.

Listen to this… “So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most.” Hebrews 4:16

When I read this, it’s like the word bold jumped off the page right towards me. I felt like God was saying, “Are you bold?” My first thought was like, well yea.. I mean.. sorta.. I mean, sometimes.. well, if it doesn’t make me uncomfortable..

I just found myself making excuses.
I realized I’m not as bold as I think I am.
I realized that I don’t come boldly to His throne enough.
I realized I probably tip-toe into His presence, instead of running towards Him with my arms wide open.
It got me thinking.

I decided look up the word Bold:

Dictionary.com’s definition of Bold is this: not hesitating or fearful in the face of actual or possible danger or rebuff. Not hesitating to break the rules of propriety (propriety means the establishment or good behaviors/manners).

Do you seek God with boldness? Or are you unsure of how to approach Him?

Do you respond to God with boldness? Or are you timid?
Do you worship Him with boldness? Or do you just stand there afraid of what other people are going to think if you raise your hands, or clap, or sing out really loud?

As followers of Jesus we are called to be humble, to put others above ourselves, to have a servants heart. But I think we confuse those attributes on occasion to mean we can’t be outwardly expressive, display confidence or be assured of ourselves and what we believe. I think of Paul, Peter, and John. They are prime examples of people who were bold, brash, and confident. And you know, many people didn’t like that. They ruffled feathers. Especially the religious leaders of the time. They couldn’t stand it. I bet if these guys were living in our time, they would cause quite a ruckus in the church. They didn’t care what peoples perception of them was, only God’s. They weren’t people pleasers. They were themselves. They were bold and confident because of who Christ was and what He did for them.

To often we think that in order to be humble or meek or reverent, we can’t be bold, upfront, direct, confident, etc. When, we absolutely can be humble followers of Christ, yet still be bold and confident of who we are, because of who God is and what He’s done for us.

I think to often we hide behind fear.
Behind pride.
Behind failure.
Behind weakness.
Behind traditions.
Behind what people think.
Behind what we think is right.

Here’s the antonyms of bold…
afraid.
cowardly.
fearful.
shy.
timid.

Yep. I don’t want to be like that. You don’t want to be like that.

God is calling you to come to Him with boldness.
God is calling you to live your life with boldness.
God is calling you to worship and praise Him with boldness.

Remember.. he says, we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most.
That means you have permission. He will cover you.
When you need it the most it’s there.
If someone thinks you’re being to audacious, to forward, to brave.. that’s ok.

Maybe that means people don’t understand you.
Maybe that means you ruffle feathers.
Maybe that means you do things differently.
Maybe that means you upset the establishment.
And, maybe it will cost you.

God is calling you to do this.
He expects it. So should we.
Don’t hold back. Serisouly. Don’t.

Be Bold.

Categories: Thoughts

Leave a Reply

