Way.

One of the books that I’m currently re-reading is Velvet Elvis (Rob Bell), here are some thoughts from some of the reading I did this morning:

As a Christian, I am simply trying to orient myself around living a particular kind of way, the kind of way that Jesus taught is possible. And I think that the way of Jesus is the best possible way to live.

I’m convinced being generous is a better way to live.

I’m convinced forgiving people and not carrying around bitterness is a better way to live.

I’m convinced having compassion is a better way to live.

I’m convinced pursuing peace in every situation is a better way to live.

I’m convinced listening to the wisdom of others is a better way to live.

I’m convinced being honest with people is a better way to live.

Over time when you purposefully try to live the way of Jesus, you start noticing something deeper that is going on. You begin realizing the reason this is the best way to live is that it is rooted in profound truths about how the word is. You find your living more and more in tune with ultimate reality. You are more and more in sync with how the universe is at its deepest levels.

Jesus’ intention was, and is, to call people to live in tune with reality. He said at one point that if you had seen Him, you had “seen the Father.” He claimed to be showing us what God is like. In His compassion, peace, truth telling, and generosity, He was showing us God.

(Taken from Velvit Elvis – Rob Bell)

Categories: Random, Readings

Leave a Reply

